Alaska Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Alaska

In the state of Alaska you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility several ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. Another way is by providing the [state_information:insurance_dept_office] the necessary information listed under the insurance alternatives tab. The other way is by qualifying for the Alaska Automobile Insurance Plan. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving with out proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100% prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Alaska online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Alaska requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

Bodily injury: $50,000 per person.
Bodily injury: $100,000 per accident.
Property damage: $25,000.

Accepted proof of insurance:

Alaska Statute requires that you must have a copy of your policy, certificate of self-insurance, or insurance identification card in your immediate possession when you are driving a motor vehicle.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Alaska you can contact the Alaska Driver Licensing & Title/Registration at (855) 269-5551 or visit the Alaska Driver Licensing & Title/Registration web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Alaska you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

Post a bond in amount determined by the Alaska division of insurance for self insurance.

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Alaska you can contact the Alaska Driver Licensing & Title/Registration at (855) 269-5551 or visit the Alaska Driver Licensing & Title/Registration web site.

In the event you are unable to purchase auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Alaska you can apply to the following state insurance option. This option is for drivers who cannot afford to purchase the necessary minimum amounts of insurance. These options are typically funded by insurance companies and the pool of other drivers currently on the road. This aids in reducing the detrimental effects of uninsured motorists involved in an incident.

State Insurance option:

Alaska Automobile Insurance Plan

You may be eligible for coverage under the Alaska Automobile Insurance Plan (Assigned Risk). The plan assigns applicants to private insurance companies doing business in Alaska. Ask your agent or call AIPSO at 800-227-4659

Not sure if you can afford auto insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Alaska you can contact the Alaska Driver Licensing & Title/Registration at (855) 269-5551 or visit the Alaska Driver Licensing & Title/Registration web site.

The state of Alaska takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Failure to have the proper insurance may result in a suspension of a driver's license

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Alaska you can contact the Alaska Driver Licensing & Title/Registration at (855) 269-5551 or visit the Alaska Driver Licensing & Title/Registration web site.