California Car Insurance

Car Insurance in California

In the state of California you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the DMV the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your California online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of California requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury/death to more than one person
$5,000 for damage to property

Accepted proof of insurance:

A document or identification card from your insurance company.
A DMV authorization letter, if you are a cash depositor or are self-insured.
Your insurance provider will electronically report the status info on your private-use liability policy to the CA DMV as well

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of California you can contact the California DMV at (866) 664-4545 or visit the California DMV web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of California you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

Making a cash deposit of $35,000 with the CA DMV. For more information call the DMV at (916) 657-6520
Obtaining a self-insurance certificate from the CA DMV. Contact the agency at the phone number and address above.
Obtaining a $35,000 surety bond from a company licensed to do so in California.
And of course, purchasing a motor vehicle liability insurance policy. 

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of California you can contact the California DMV at (866) 664-4545 or visit the California DMV web site.

The state of California takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Your vehicle registration could be subject to suspension if the following occurs:

  • You fail to replace your liability insurance policy within 45 days once it has been canceled.
  • Your insurance provider fails to electronically provide evidence of insurance within 30 days after the state issued you a registration card on a vehicle that has never before been registered in California.
  • You submit false evidence of insurance.
  • You could receive a traffic ticket if you get pulled over by a peace officer and cannot provide evidence of financial responsibility. If you are ticketed you’ll have to go through the court system (and not the DMV) to clear or sign such a citation.
  • Your vehicle could be impounded and you could be fined.
  • You could be financially responsible for damages associated with an auto accident you had any part in causing. That means being personally liable and forced to pay for any injuries or damage.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of California you can contact the California DMV at (866) 664-4545 or visit the California DMV web site.