Florida Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Florida

In the state of Florida you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the FDHSMV Customer Service Center the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Florida online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Florida requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$10,000 for one person in bodily injury liability
$20,000 for two or more people in bodily injury liability
$10,000 per crash in property damage liability
$30,000 in combined single limits

Accepted proof of insurance:

insurance ID card from your insurance carrier
A certificate of self-insurance from the FDHSMV

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Florida you can contact the Florida FDHSMV Customer Service Center at (850) 617-2000 or visit the Florida FDHSMV Customer Service Center web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Florida you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

Two options for self insurance are as follows
Surety Bond from a surety company authorized to do business in this state, conditioned for payment with the amounts of: $10,000 of bodily injury to, or death of, one person in any one crash; $20,000 bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any one crash; and $10,000 injury to, or destruction of, property of others in any one crash ($10,000/20,000/10,000).
A notarized copy of a financial statement (balance sheet indicating assets and liabilities) showing a net unencumbered worth of at least $40,000,

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Florida you can contact the Florida FDHSMV Customer Service Center at (850) 617-2000 or visit the Florida FDHSMV Customer Service Center web site.

The state of Florida takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is authorized to suspend your driving privilege, including your vehicle license plate and registration, for up to three years or until proof of Florida insurance is provided, whichever is first.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Florida you can contact the Florida FDHSMV Customer Service Center at (850) 617-2000 or visit the Florida FDHSMV Customer Service Center web site.