Georgia Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Georgia

In the state of Georgia you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the Department of Revenue the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Georgia online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Georgia requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

The minimum limits of liability required under Georgia law are Bodily injury Liability of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per occurrence and Property Damage liability of $25,000 per occurrence

Accepted proof of insurance:

Insurance Card
Your insurer is required by law to issue you, their insured, an insurance policy information card for each vehicle they insure. Your insurance policy information card must be carried in your vehicle at all times when the vehicle is driven, even now when insurance cards are no longer acceptable proof of insurance for all vehicles

Self-Insured Information
A valid self-insured insurance information card and a certificate of self-insurance issued by the Georgia Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner’s office (ICO) are acceptable proof of liability insurance coverage for a self-insured vehicle when both are issued in the registered owner’s name

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Georgia you can contact the Georgia Department of Revenue at 855-406-5221 or visit the Georgia Department of Revenue web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Georgia you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

Purchase a liability insurance policy from a carrier licensed with the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Georgia you can contact the Georgia Department of Revenue at 855-406-5221 or visit the Georgia Department of Revenue web site.

The state of Georgia takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

The Department of Revenue (DOR) is required by law to suspend and/or revoke the registration of any vehicle that does not have continuous Georgia liability insurance coverage.
Anyone driving a motor vehicle without acceptable proof of Georgia liability insurance coverage will be subject to fines and vehicle impoundment when discovered by law enforcement or if the vehicle is involved in an accident.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Georgia you can contact the Georgia Department of Revenue at 855-406-5221 or visit the Georgia Department of Revenue web site.