Idaho Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Idaho

In the state of Idaho you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the Department of Insurance the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Idaho online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Idaho requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$25,000 for injury/death for one person.
$50,000 for injury/death to more than one person
$15,000 for damage to property.

Accepted proof of insurance:

An insurance ID card from your insurance carrier and or an electronic proof.
A certificate of self-insurance from your surety bond provider.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Idaho you can contact the Idaho Department of Insurance at 208-334-4250 or visit the Idaho Department of Insurance web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Idaho you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

An indemnity bond from an authorized Idaho surety company. This guarantees that you'll pay within 30 days no less than $50,000 for any single accident of which $15,000 is for property damage, for each vehicle registered up to a maximum of $120,000 for five or more vehicles. This bond must be approved by Idaho's Department of Insurance.

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Idaho you can contact the Idaho Department of Insurance at 208-334-4250 or visit the Idaho Department of Insurance web site.

The state of Idaho takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

You must continuously provide insurance against loss resulting from liability imposed by law or by rule of the department and shall comply with the insurance requirements.
It is an infraction punishable by a fine of seventy-five dollars ($75.00) for any person to violate the provisions of this section for the first time. A second and any subsequent conviction for a violation within a period of five (5) years shall be a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months, or both.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Idaho you can contact the Idaho Department of Insurance at 208-334-4250 or visit the Idaho Department of Insurance web site.