Indiana Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Indiana

In the state of Indiana you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the BMV the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Indiana online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Indiana requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 bodily injury coverage for one person in a single accident.
Uninsured motorist coverage: $50,000 bodily injury coverage total in a single accident.
Underinsured motorist coverage: $50,000 bodily injury coverage total in a single accident.
$10,000 property damage coverage.

Accepted proof of insurance:

Indiana motorists are required to provide proof of insurance when they are involved in any of these situations. The proof must be electronically submitted to the BMV by the motorist’s insurance provider.
An auto accident.
A traffic ticket within one year of receiving two other traffic tickets.
A serious traffic violation such as a misdemeanor or felony.
Any traffic violation by a driver who was previously suspended for failing to provide proof of financial responsibility.

A copy of the current BMV-issued Certificate of Self-Insurance
On company/organization letterhead, provide the following information:
Name of driver involved in accident, his/her driver’s license number and birth date
Year and make of the vehicle involved in the accident
Date of the accident

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Indiana you can contact the Indiana BMV at (317) 233-6000 or visit the Indiana BMV web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Indiana you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

A deposit with the state treasurer in the amount of $40,000.
A trust fund with a market value of $40,000.
A bond issued by a surety company meeting the states requirement of $40,000. 

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Indiana you can contact the Indiana BMV at (317) 233-6000 or visit the Indiana BMV web site.

The state of Indiana takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

A motorist who operates a vehicle without a liability insurance policy is subject to a 90-day suspension of driving privileges or a one-year suspension if it is a repeat violation within a three-year period.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Indiana you can contact the Indiana BMV at (317) 233-6000 or visit the Indiana BMV web site.