Kansas Drivers Ed

Car Insurance in Kansas

In the state of Kansas you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility one way by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Kansas online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Kansas requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

Liability coverage
$25,000/person for bodily injury
$50,000/accident for bodily injury
$10,000/accident for property damage
Personal injury protection (PIP or No Fault)
Minimum amount required by law:
$4,500/person for medical expenses
$900/month for one year for disability/loss of income
$25/day for in-home services
$2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expense
$4,500 for rehabilitation expense
Survivor Benefits: Disability/loss of income up to $900/month for one year
In-home services up to $25/day for one year
Uninsured/Underinsured
$25,000/person
$50,000/accident

Accepted proof of insurance:

Evidence of financial security shall be provided by a policy of motor vehicle liability insurance, an identification card or certificate of insurance issued to the policyholder by the insurer which provides the name of the insurer, the policy number, make and year of the vehicle and the effective and expiration dates of the policy, or a certificate of self-insurance signed by the commissioner of insurance.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Kansas you can contact the Kansas Insurance Department at (800) 432-2484 or visit the Kansas Insurance Department web site.

The state of Kansas takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Any person not maintaining insurance shall be guilty of a class B misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 or confinement in the county jail for a term of not more than six months, or both such fine and confinement.
Any person convicted within three years of any such prior conviction shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine of not less than $800 nor more than $2,500.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Kansas you can contact the Kansas Insurance Department at (800) 432-2484 or visit the Kansas Insurance Department web site.