Maine Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Maine

In the state of Maine you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by qualifying for the The Maine Automobile Insurance Plan. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving with out proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100% prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take yourMaine online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Maine requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$50,000 for the injury/death to any one person
$100,000 for one accident resulting in injury/death of more than one person
$25,000 for property damage

Accepted proof of insurance:

Copy of insurance policy or binder; or
Copy of I.D. card issued by insurance company; or
Copy of declaration page; or
Written statement from the insurance company or agent. This statement must be on letterhead stationery, signed by representative of company/agent, and include full description of the vehicle, including the VIN

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Maine you can contact the Maine The Bureau of Insurance at (207) 624-8475 or visit the Maine The Bureau of Insurance web site.

In the event you are unable to purchase auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Maine you can apply to the following state insurance option. This option is for drivers who cannot afford to purchase the necessary minimum amounts of insurance. These options are typically funded by insurance companies and the pool of other drivers currently on the road. This aids in reducing the detrimental effects of uninsured motorists involved in an incident.

State Insurance option:

The Maine Automobile Insurance Plan

The Maine Automobile Insurance Plan offers help if you cannot obtain coverage through regular means. The way it works is the state requires all insurance companies who sell auto coverage in Maine to contribute to this shared market.

Not sure if you can afford auto insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Maine you can contact the Maine The Bureau of Insurance at (207) 624-8475 or visit the Maine The Bureau of Insurance web site.

The state of Maine takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Can result in fines and loss of your driver’s license, registration and plates. The penalties will increase with repeat offenses. Fines for no proof of insurance are a Class E crime. $100.00 to $500.00 fine, $35.00 reinstatement fee, and suspend your license and vehicle registration.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Maine you can contact the Maine The Bureau of Insurance at (207) 624-8475 or visit the Maine The Bureau of Insurance web site.