Minnesota Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Minnesota

In the state of Minnesota you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility one way by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Minnesota online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Minnesota requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) $40,000 per person per accident
($20,000 for hospital/medical expenses and $20,000 for non-medical expenses such as lost wages, replacement services, etc.)
Liability $30,000 for injuries to one person
$60,000 for injuries to two or more people
$10,000 for physical damage to the other driver’s vehicle or for damage to property
Uninsured $25,000 for injuries to one person
$50,000 for injuries to two or more people
Underinsured $25,000 for injuries to one person
$50,000 for injuries to two or more people

Accepted proof of insurance:

Every driver shall have in possession at all times when operating a vehicle and shall produce on demand of a peace officer proof of insurance in force at the time of the demand covering the vehicle being operated.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Minnesota you can contact the Minnesota Department of Commerce Insurance Division at 651-296-4026 or visit the Minnesota Department of Commerce Insurance Division web site.

The state of Minnesota takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

If the driver does not produce the required proof of insurance upon the demand of a peace officer, the driver is guilty of a misdemeanor. A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who violates this section within ten years of the first of two prior convictions in addition to any sentence of imprisonment that the court may impose, the court shall impose a fine of not less than $200 nor more than the maximum fine applicable to misdemeanors upon conviction. The court may allow community service in lieu of any fine imposed if the defendant is indigent. In addition to criminal penalties, a person convicted are subject to revocation of a driver's license or permit to drive.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Minnesota you can contact the Minnesota Department of Commerce Insurance Division at 651-296-4026 or visit the Minnesota Department of Commerce Insurance Division web site.