Nebraska Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Nebraska

In the state of Nebraska you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the DMV's Financial Responsibility Division the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Nebraska online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Nebraska requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$25,000 per person per accident
$50,000 per accident bodily injury
$25,000 per accident property damage

Accepted proof of insurance:

Certificate of Insurance issued by any insurance carrier authorized to do business in Nebraska.
Bond issued by a surety company authorized to do business in Nebraska.
Property Bond.
Certificate of Deposit or money or securities.
Certificate of Self Insurance issued by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. This certificate is valid only if it bears the Department of Motor Vehicles Seal.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Nebraska you can contact the Nebraska DMV's Financial Responsibility Division at (402) 471-3985 or visit the Nebraska DMV's Financial Responsibility Division web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Nebraska you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

Proof of financial responsibility may be evidenced by the bond of a surety company duly authorized to transact business within this state. The bond shall be conditioned for the payment of up to $75,000 proof of financial responsibility may be evidenced by a bond with at least two individual sureties who each own real estate within this state, which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a judge of a court of record. The bond shall be conditioned for the payment of up to $75,000. A certificate of deposit or money of securities is issued by the State Treasurer after the person named therein deposits $75,000 in cash or securities into the custody of the State Treasurer's office.

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Nebraska you can contact the Nebraska DMV's Financial Responsibility Division at (402) 471-3985 or visit the Nebraska DMV's Financial Responsibility Division web site.

The state of Nebraska takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Your operator’s license and/or operating privileges will be automatically suspended when you have been convicted/found guilty of a citation for No Proof of Insurance. Citations for No Proof of Insurance are given to the owner of the vehicle 

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Nebraska you can contact the Nebraska DMV's Financial Responsibility Division at (402) 471-3985 or visit the Nebraska DMV's Financial Responsibility Division web site.