New Jersey Car Insurance

Car Insurance in New Jersey

In the state of New Jersey you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility one way by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your New Jersey online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of New Jersey requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$5,000 for property damage
$15,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Accepted proof of insurance:

Your insurance company must give you a New Jersey Insurance Identification Card for each vehicle under your policy.
You must keep the card in the vehicle and present it:
Before an inspection
When involved in an accident
When stopped for a traffic violation
When you are stopped in a spot check by a police officer

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of New Jersey you can contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) at (888) 486-3339 or visit the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) web site.

The state of New Jersey takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

A first time violation of driving without Liability Insurance includes a fine between $300 and $1,000.00, community service, a mandatory license suspension of one year, and DMV surcharges of $250 for three years.
A second offense carries with it a fine of up to $5000.00, 30 days community service, a license suspension for two years, and a mandatory jail sentence of 14 days.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of New Jersey you can contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) at (888) 486-3339 or visit the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) web site.