New Mexico Car Insurance

Car Insurance in New Mexico

In the state of New Mexico you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the MVD the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your New Mexico online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of New Mexico requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person,
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons, and
- $10,000 for property damage in any one accident.

Accepted proof of insurance:

- A current auto insurance card.
- A copy of your current auto insurance policy.
- A letter from your auto insurance company (on company letterhead) that verifies your auto insurance coverage.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of New Mexico you can contact the New Mexico MVD at 888 683 4636 or visit the New Mexico MVD web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of New Mexico you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

A surety bond or a cash deposit, the total amount shall be $60,000 on deposit with the New Mexico State Treasurer.

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of New Mexico you can contact the New Mexico MVD at 888 683 4636 or visit the New Mexico MVD web site.

The state of New Mexico takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Any person who operates a vehicle wiht out insurance is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be sentenced to a fine not to exceed three hundred dollars ($300).

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of New Mexico you can contact the New Mexico MVD at 888 683 4636 or visit the New Mexico MVD web site.