New York Car Insurance

Car Insurance in New York

In the state of New York you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility one way by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your New York online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of New York requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$25,000/50,000 for injury
$50,000/100,000 for death
$10,000 for property damage caused by any one accident

Accepted proof of insurance:

You must show a NYS Insurance Identification Card when you apply for a vehicle registration. Your insurance company, agent or broker must issue two original NYS Insurance Identification Cards to you. The Insurance Identification Cards must have the same name as the registration application and must have a barcode.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of New York you can contact the New York DMV at 518-473-559 or visit the New York DMV web site.

The state of New York takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Your driver’s license will be suspended.
Your registration will be suspended.
Your guilty of a traffic infraction and upon conviction may be fined not less than one hundred fifty dollars or more than one thousand five hundred dollars or may be imprisoned for not more than fifteen days or both.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of New York you can contact the New York DMV at 518-473-559 or visit the New York DMV web site.