Ohio Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Ohio

In the state of Ohio you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the Bureau of Motor Vehicles the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Ohio online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Ohio requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$12,500 bodily injury coverage per person.
$25,000 bodily injury coverage for an accident involving two or more persons.
$7500 property damage coverage.

Accepted proof of insurance:

A copy of the declaration page of a policy of liability insurance.
Form BMV 2262, 2263 or 2294 completed by insurance agent (Back of Suspension Notice).
A liability bond.
A financial responsibility identification card issued by insurance company.
A binder of liability insurance bearing the original signature of an authorized agent and valid for no more than 30 days from date of issuance.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Ohio you can contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (614) 752-7500 or visit the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Ohio you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

A $30,000 bond issued by an authorized surety or insurance company;
A certificate of proof of financial responsibility signed by an insurance agent on a form prescribed by the Ohio BMV;
A certificate issued by the BMV, after proper application and approval, indicating that money or a government bond in the amount of $30,000 is on deposit with the Ohio State Treasurer;

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Ohio you can contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (614) 752-7500 or visit the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles web site.

The state of Ohio takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Loss of driving privileges for a maximum of 2 years;
Suspension of license plates and vehicle registration;
Requirement to pay reinstatement fees ranging from $150 (first violation) to $650 (third or subsequent violation);
Requirement to file insurance continuously in the form of an SR-22 or bond for a 3-5 year period, depending upon offense;
Immobilization of the vehicle and confiscation of plates for 30-60 days for violating an FR suspension. Third and subsequent offenses could result in vehicle forfeiture and a 5-year suspension of vehicle registrations.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Ohio you can contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (614) 752-7500 or visit the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles web site.