Rhode Island Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Rhode Island

In the state of Rhode Island you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the Dept of Business the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Rhode Island online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Rhode Island requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$25,000 of bodily injury coverage for injuries or death occurring to one person in an accident
$50,000 of bodily injury coverage for injuries or deaths occurring to more than one person in an accident
$25,000 of property damage coverage per accident

Accepted proof of insurance:

A copy of the insurance identification (ID) card issued by an insurance carrier or by a self-insured.
A copy of the declaration page of an insurance policy
A copy of a valid binder of insurance

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Rhode Island you can contact the Rhode Island Dept of Business at (401) 462-4368 or visit the Rhode Island Dept of Business web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Rhode Island you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

cash or other security totaling $75,000 must be physically placed in the hands of the State of Rhode Island and arrangement must be made so that the state may use the funds in case of liability assessed against the depositor. No interest will be paid by the state on deposited funds. Depositor will be given a receipt for the security and a certificate stating that he has complied with the law which can be used as evidence if asked for same by law enforcement. 

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Rhode Island you can contact the Rhode Island Dept of Business at (401) 462-4368 or visit the Rhode Island Dept of Business web site.

The state of Rhode Island takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Suspension of a driver’s license;
Suspension of motor vehicle registration and license plates
A fine of $500 for the first and second offenses;
A fine of $1,000 for the third and subsequent offenses;
A possible year’s imprisonment (for violation occurring a third and
subsequent time).

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Rhode Island you can contact the Rhode Island Dept of Business at (401) 462-4368 or visit the Rhode Island Dept of Business web site.