South Carolina Car Insurance

Car Insurance in South Carolina

In the state of South Carolina you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the DMV the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your South Carolina online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of South Carolina requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$25,000 per person for bodily injury coverage
$50,000 per accident
$25,000 for personal property

Accepted proof of insurance:

Carry your insurance card in your vehicle at all times.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of South Carolina you can contact the South Carolina DMV at (803) 896-5000 or visit the South Carolina DMV web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of South Carolina you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

The state does allow some residents to register as uninsured motorists for a fee of $550 per year. Registering as an uninsured motorist means the state allows you to drive without insurance, but it doesn't mean you’re covered in the event you need actual insurance.

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of South Carolina you can contact the South Carolina DMV at (803) 896-5000 or visit the South Carolina DMV web site.

The state of South Carolina takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer and unable to provide proof that the vehicle you are operating is insured, you may be issued a citation and be subject to a fine or imprisonment and or suspension of the owner's driver’s license and/or registration privileges.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of South Carolina you can contact the South Carolina DMV at (803) 896-5000 or visit the South Carolina DMV web site.