Tennessee Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Tennessee

In the state of Tennessee you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the Department of Safety the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Tennessee online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Tennessee requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$25,000 for one injury or death
$50,000 for all injuries or deaths
$15,000 for property damage for one accident

Accepted proof of insurance:

An insurance card, binder or declaration page of a policy from an insurance company or a certificate from the Department of Safety noting that a cash deposit or bond has been posted in the amount required by the Tennessee Financial Responsibility Law or that a person has qualified as a self-insurer .

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Tennessee you can contact the Tennessee Department of Safety at (866) 903-7357 or visit the Tennessee Department of Safety web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Tennessee you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

Proof of financial responsibility. This can be in the form of a certificate of insurance, a bond, or certificate of deposit or cash with the Department of Safety (DOS).

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Tennessee you can contact the Tennessee Department of Safety at (866) 903-7357 or visit the Tennessee Department of Safety web site.

The state of Tennessee takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Class C misdemeanor punishable only by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100.00). Also, once the State is notified of a conviction, the violator's drivers license will be suspended.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Tennessee you can contact the Tennessee Department of Safety at (866) 903-7357 or visit the Tennessee Department of Safety web site.