Texas Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Texas

In the state of Texas you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the Department of Insurance the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Texas online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Texas requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$30,000 bodily injury coverage for one person in a single accident
$60,000 bodily injury coverage total per accident
$25,000 property damage coverage per accident

Accepted proof of insurance:

a motor vehicle liability insurance policy covering the vehicle or a photocopy of the policy;
standard proof of motor vehicle liability insurance form issued by a liability insurer for the motor vehicle;
an insurance binder that confirms the operator is in compliance
a surety bond certificate
a certificate of a deposit with the comptroller covering the vehicle
a copy of a certificate of a deposit with the appropriate county judge covering the vehicle
a certificate of self-insurance covering the vehicle or a photocopy of the certificate.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Texas you can contact the Texas Department of Insurance at 800-252-3439 or visit the Texas Department of Insurance web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Texas you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

Surety bond filed with county clerk. The bond must include two people whom own real estate in Texas.
Deposit of $55,000 in cash or securities with the county comptroller.
Deposit of $55,000 in cash or cashier's check with the county judge.

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Texas you can contact the Texas Department of Insurance at 800-252-3439 or visit the Texas Department of Insurance web site.

The state of Texas takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

First offense: fine of $175 to $350
More offenses: fine of $350 to $1,000, suspension of your driver’s license, and impoundment of your automobile
Offense without a driver’s license: $2,000 maximum fine, 180 days in jail, or both
Offense if you cause an accident with serious injuries or death: $4,000 maximum fine, one year in jail, or both.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Texas you can contact the Texas Department of Insurance at 800-252-3439 or visit the Texas Department of Insurance web site.