Vermont Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Vermont

In the state of Vermont you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the DMV the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Vermont online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Vermont requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$25,000 for injury/death to any one person
$50,000 for injuries/deaths for two or more people
$10,000 for damages to property in any one accident

Accepted proof of insurance:

A current insurance identification card from your carrier.
A Certificate of Deposit for self insurance.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Vermont you can contact the Vermont DMV at 802-828-2000 or visit the Vermont DMV web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Vermont you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

In lieu of standard insurance , evidence of self-insurance in the amount of $115,000.00 must be filed with the commissioner of motor vehicles, and shall be maintained and evidenced in a form prescribed by the commissioner.

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Vermont you can contact the Vermont DMV at 802-828-2000 or visit the Vermont DMV web site.

The state of Vermont takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Civil penalty of not less than $250.00 and not more than $500.00, and such violation shall be a traffic violation.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Vermont you can contact the Vermont DMV at 802-828-2000 or visit the Vermont DMV web site.