Washington Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Washington

In the state of Washington you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the State Department of Licensing the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Washington online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Washington requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$25,000 of bodily injury for one person per accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury for two people per accident.
$10,000 of property damage per accident.

Accepted proof of insurance:

Any time you drive in Washington, you must be prepared to show your auto insurance identification card, proof of your certificate of deposit, or proof of your liability bond to law enforcement.

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Washington you can contact the Washington State Department of Licensing at 360-902-3770 or visit the Washington State Department of Licensing web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Washington you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

Certificate of deposit for $60,000 with the State Treasurer’s office or in a state of Washington approved bank account.
Liability bond for $60,000 with a surety bond company authorized by the state.

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Washington you can contact the Washington State Department of Licensing at 360-902-3770 or visit the Washington State Department of Licensing web site.

The state of Washington takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Operating a vehicle without the required coverage is a traffic infraction punishable by a fine of at least $450. Failing to show this proof of insurance is a traffic infraction. Knowingly providing false evidence of coverage is a misdemeanor.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Washington you can contact the Washington State Department of Licensing at 360-902-3770 or visit the Washington State Department of Licensing web site.