West Virginia Car Insurance

Car Insurance in West Virginia

In the state of West Virginia you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility one way by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your West Virginia online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of West Virginia requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$10,000 for property damages
$20,000 for one accident, one injury/death
$40,000 for one accident, two injuries/deaths

Accepted proof of insurance:

Proof of coverage (the form WV-1 certificate of insurance) should be kept in the car at all times

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of West Virginia you can contact the West Virginia Office of Insurance Commissioner at (304) 558-3900 or visit the West Virginia Office of Insurance Commissioner web site.

The state of West Virginia takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

30-day suspension of your drivers license plus a deactivated vehicle registration.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of West Virginia you can contact the West Virginia Office of Insurance Commissioner at (304) 558-3900 or visit the West Virginia Office of Insurance Commissioner web site.