Wyoming Car Insurance

Car Insurance in Wyoming

In the state of Wyoming you can satisfy the states requirements of financial responsibility two ways. The easiest way is by securing an auto insurance policy through a state licensed insurance company. The other way is by providing the Insurance Department the necessary information listed under the alternatives tab. Below are the corresponding tabs with the minimum requirements to satisfy your financial responsibility to drive. The Penalties tab covers the consequences for not carrying insurance or driving without proof of insurance. Review these tabs and our supplemental insurance pages on purchasing, car insurance discounts, and claims to make sure you are 100 % prepared to take responsibility for driving on the roads. The best insurance of course is to take your Wyoming online drivers ed course and learn to be a safe driver with igottadrive.com.

Purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Wyoming requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of insurance. These minimums will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter. Even as a new or returning driver discounts are available to help you better protect you and your vehicle.

Minimum requirements:

$25,000 per person for bodily injury
$50,000 per accident for bodily injury
$20,000 per accident for property damage

Accepted proof of insurance:

An insurance card
A copy of your Motor Vehicle Liability Bond
A copy of your Certificate of Cash Bond

Need a quote? Use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Wyoming you can contact the Wyoming Insurance Department at 800-438-5768 or visit the Wyoming Insurance Department web site.

Outside of purchasing auto insurance to meet your financial responsibilities in the state of Wyoming you can apply  for the following insurance alternatives. These alternative options will get you on the road however you should consult your insurance agent to make sure you are properly covered for potential incidents that you may encounter.

Approved insurance alternatives:

Secure a surety bond with at least two individual sureties that own real estate in Wyoming.
Deposit $25,000 (or securities of equal value) with the state treasurer.

Want to compare alternative cost with insurance? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Wyoming you can contact the Wyoming Insurance Department at 800-438-5768 or visit the Wyoming Insurance Department web site.

The state of Wyoming takes driving with out being properly covered or not having the financial wherewithal to cover an auto accident very seriously. The following  list of penalties are in place to keep people from taking the risk of driving with out coverage. These penalties are to be taken seriously and are here to help protect  you and your automobile in the event you are in an accident.

State Penalties:

Misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, a fine of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) nor more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or both. On a second or subsequent violation the person may be fined not less than five hundred dollars ($500.00) nor more than one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00), imprisoned for not more than six (6) months, or both. In addition to the fine or imprisonment imposed for a second or subsequent violation of this subsection, the judge shall require the defendant to deliver the registration and license plates of the vehicle involved to the county treasurer for the county where the citation was issued, and the registration and license plates shall be held by the county treasurer until such time as the judge determines that the defendant has met all obligations imposed by law.

Don't be that guy. Get auto insurance and know your covered? use the quote finder in the upper right corner to get started.

For more information about insurance in the state of Wyoming you can contact the Wyoming Insurance Department at 800-438-5768 or visit the Wyoming Insurance Department web site.