California Teen Drivers Ed Permit |
first-pickup forward forward-arrow-only payments shield-with-check success back2 dropdown forward2 marketplace shipments ic_profile_empty iGottaDrive

California Teen Drivers Ed Permit

The simple steps to get a permit:

  1. Register and Purchase online drivers Ed course. Our course is designed using modern instructional techniques and is based on the most up to date research. Our fees are "all inclusive" and we don't charge for extras, like receiving your Certificate Of Completion.
  2. Successfully complete your online Drivers Ed course. The time you spend in our course will not only provide you what's needed to pass your driver permit test, but also put you on the road to becoming and safe driver.
  3. Receive completion certificate from Upon successful completion of our drivers ed course, you will receive a Certificate Of Completion, form DL400C from Your certificate will be mailed to you after processing. We are a California accredited organization and provide an official certificate that is accepted by all California DMV offices.
  4. Proceed to local Certificate Of Completion DMV office. Take your Certificate Of Completion (form DL400C) you received from, your Birth Certificate, and $31 with you to the DMV office. The $31 fee is paid directly to the DMV as a processing fee.
  5. Complete application form DL 44 provided at the DMV office. The DMV requires you to provide a thumbprint and your social security number for this form. Upon completion of the DL 44 form you will then be allowed to take your drivers permit test at the DMV.
  6. Pass the DMV "traffic laws and sign" test. You will need to take this test at the DMV office. Fear not, the instruction you received from will have prepared you to pass the "traffic laws and sign" test the first time.
  7. Smile for the camera. The last step to getting your permit is having your picture taken at the DMV office. Be sure to smile and look good for your newly minted permit.
  8. Congratulations! Smile. With your permit in hand, you can now legally drive in the presence of your parent, guardian, or an adult over 21 years of age.

Now that you have completed your California Online Drivers Ed and have your permit in hand, it is now time to get in-car training and necessary experience for taking the road test at the DMV. The most important detail is to get practice, practice, and more practice behind the wheel. It has been demonstrated novice drivers with more supervised practice will become safer drivers, so don't skimp on the practice!